September 2010


Newspace Center for Photography is pleased to announce The Curve, a photographic exhibition showcasing the recipients of the 2010 CENTER (Santa Fe) Choice Awards.

Visit their website

An exhibition highlighting the works of some of the most talented photographers working today will be held at the Newspace from September 3-26, 2010. This year, over 6,000 images were submitted to the prestigious CENTER Choice Awards representing 24 different countries including Denmark, Iceland, Iran, Portugal and Singapore. The Choice Awards are judged in three distinct categories: Curator’s Choice, Editor’s Choice and Director’s Choice.

Roxana Marcoci, Curator, Department of Photography, The Museum of Modern Art;
Laura Valenti, Programs Director & Chris Bennett, Executive Director, Newspace Center for Photography;
Kathy Ryan, Picture Editor, The New York Times Magazine & Scott Thode, Editor-In-Chief, VII magazine.

“Our selection is unified by a subtle elegance, a delicate humanity, and a sense of mystery, as well as a remarkable clarity of perspective and a high level of craft. As a whole, the images chosen speak to our primary interest in showcasing challenging contemporary fine-art and fine-art documentary work. We are pleased to offer our gallery as an exhibition venue for the winners and look forward to a gorgeous show at Newspace in September.”

— Laura Valenti and Chris Bennett, Director, Newspace Center for Photography

“These pictures are epic and poetic at the same time. These awe-inspiring images deliver the thing photography does best – a documentation of a moment in time that won’t be repeated.”
— Kathy Ryan, Picture Editor, The New York Times Magazine & Scott Thode Editor-in-Chief, VII magazine

Steven Beckly, Toronto, Canada
J Carrier, Brooklyn, NY
Joyce P. Lopez, Chicago, IL
Alinka Echeverria, Mexico City, Mexico
Martine Fougeron, The Bronx, NY
Gloria Baker Feinstein, Kansas City, MO
Aaron Huey, Seattle, WA
Andrea Land, Springfield, MO
Margaret LeJeune, Batesville, AK
Brad Moore, Laguna Beach, CA
Matt Slaby, Denver, CO
Jamey Stillings, Santa Fe, NM
Tabitha Soren, Berkeley, CA